A NEW Level of Gimmick? Gigabyte Aero 15 x9 Review

Science & Technology

Check out a Joan Board and use code LINUS8 to get 8% off at bit.ly/Joan_8
Use code LINUS and get 25% off GlassWire at lmg.gg/glasswire
While everyone else has been making their laptops better, Gigabyte has been... adding AI?
Buy the Gigabyte Aero 15 x9
On Amazon: geni.us/XvxBgkK
On Newegg: geni.us/NF6VH
Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1054687-a-new-level-of-gimmick-gigabyte-aero-15-x9-review/
Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
Intro Screen Music Credit:
Title: Laszlo - Supernova
Video Link: usdownload.net/item/video-PKfxmFU3lWY.html
iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High usdownload.net/peoples-approachingnirvana

Comments

  • Simon Vader

    Simon Vader

    11 days ago

    Another bonus with this one I found was that it’s got a huge prime discount of $150. Holy crap!

  • Fandabidozi

    Fandabidozi

    15 days ago

    shout out to basil

  • Jacob Mcdaniel

    Jacob Mcdaniel

    17 days ago

    You should have just waited a month to review the overhauled design haha

  • -MAS-

    -MAS-

    20 days ago

    After watching your video I've compared the three devices and ended purchasing the Aero 15-X9 But I've paid around 2660$ :( in order to get it as I live far from the USA I've chosen the I7 processor as I don't think a unit this thin will be able to cool the I9 pretty well, so no actual gain. For the graphics, I think RTX-2070 is enough since I'm a developer and a casual gamer so no need to pay more for the RTX-2080. For the screen also I think UHD for development is not meaningful :/ Finally for the performance!!!??? I told you I'm far away from the USA so waiting for it to arrive in order to know :)

  • Save us M1SAKI

    Save us M1SAKI

    21 day ago

    Didn’t even talk about build quality :/

  • RottenRyan100

    RottenRyan100

    Month ago

    Linus hates bezels....

  • arbington

    arbington

    Month ago

    “Dongle Embracer” Giggity.

  • DudeSkinnyTall

    DudeSkinnyTall

    Month ago

    So almost 2 weeks ago we get new i7-9850h etc officially released and why would I want a laptop full of last year gen. now?

  • Manoeuvre TV

    Manoeuvre TV

    Month ago

    Wish reviews showed the power adapter and total weight including the adapter. No point having a thin and light if the laptop has a huge ac adapter?

  • Buda Ultimate Gamer

    Buda Ultimate Gamer

    Month ago

    I Love your videos Linus !!!!

  • iDBS

    iDBS

    Month ago

    Add liquid metal on this laptop 😅

  • G

    G

    Month ago

    There is a possibility that there is a software application that provides the same features like the so-called "AI." Just wished I knew the name of such an app.

  • Sun NY

    Sun NY

    Month ago

    9:20 AERO have i9 not i7..

  • mjc0961

    mjc0961

    Month ago

    9:42 - You told us that was a dead meme in your 2060 review. I don't know what to believe anymore. 😭

  • mjc0961

    mjc0961

    Month ago

    Nobody uses the camera anyway. They always get taped over. Stop including them.

  • Will Nash

    Will Nash

    Month ago

    What do you think about the even newer version of the aero?

  • Stanislav Knyazev

    Stanislav Knyazev

    Month ago

    Its screen and quality is much better than razer blade has. Check out amazon reviews on real customers of razer blade - noise whine + shitty screen and shitty battery, no pros at all comparable to Aero. Also Dell design is garbage, no minimalism. So why you saying its better to buy razer/dell?

  • Fiction Fraction

    Fiction Fraction

    Month ago

    when u can afford a $2500 worth laptop! doesnt matter to pay few 100s for the logo

  • GΞNΛCIDΞR SHO

    GΞNΛCIDΞR SHO

    Month ago

    How is the MSI G6F3 8RC, i5 8th gen, GTX 1050 for gaming? Since it having like one fan so i'm kinda worried about it's cooling...

  • Matt Prior

    Matt Prior

    Month ago

    Laptops are too expensive... The end

  • TWR Electronics

    TWR Electronics

    Month ago

    Sorry but I'm going to say razer is the worst for reliability concerns. Are you part of the cult?

  • Stanislav Knyazev

    Stanislav Knyazev

    Month ago

    and worst screen as well

  • Jared Hernandez

    Jared Hernandez

    Month ago

    Is this a full 4 lanes Thunderbolt port?

  • foetor

    foetor

    Month ago

    Got mine x8 today and love it 😬

  • PRIMAX XYG

    PRIMAX XYG

    Month ago

    Love from indian bro I am watch video frpm when you have only 1000k subs

  • Alan Philpott

    Alan Philpott

    Month ago

    Love the way you can skip 10 seconds straight past the intro reel. Perfect intro length.

  • MaxSettings

    MaxSettings

    Month ago

    I always install a clean version of OS and setting battery/system to PERFORMANCE

  • Eric Lambert

    Eric Lambert

    Month ago

    I bought the i7 version one month ago, really happy with it, it just works perfectly for everything, and of course it's a beast in gaming.

  • boy638

    boy638

    29 days ago

    @Eric Lambert Oh my, US market really has it better.

  • Eric Lambert

    Eric Lambert

    29 days ago

    @boy638 got it for 2350 EUR

  • boy638

    boy638

    29 days ago

    how much you got it for?

  • Alkhemist 95

    Alkhemist 95

    Month ago

    Yeah. Keep reading, you dink.

  • syam babu

    syam babu

    Month ago

    make a pop up camera like in the new phones.

  • HateG Plus

    HateG Plus

    Month ago

    Sha-see not cha-see

  • Cam Mewton

    Cam Mewton

    Month ago

    you're pretty brave, turning your back on that pissed off AI

  • Franklin Castillo

    Franklin Castillo

    Month ago

    usdownload.net/item/video-ZZLz7GDBcnw.html

  • Henry xxA

    Henry xxA

    Month ago

    Mine only hits 100 FPS csgo. Please help

  • Tolipop Jia

    Tolipop Jia

    Month ago

    Wonder if the source of the zebra crossings video could be provided?

  • Anon Commenter

    Anon Commenter

    Month ago

    But the AI is in the software...

  • Scheurer

    Scheurer

    Month ago

    i dont really get the price argument. if you already spend almost over 2500$ on a gaming laptop, what are 200$ then?

  • frederick8o8

    frederick8o8

    Month ago

    Is it me or audio is slightly off?

  • Almir Ramadanovic

    Almir Ramadanovic

    Month ago

    Hey I want to get my first gaming laptop but I’m don’t understand if it’s good or not I found it in amazon could you make a review for it or reply to me here type this in amazon search bar thx! Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP

  • Lefteyehawk

    Lefteyehawk

    Month ago

    if this is an AI, what is the MSI Afterburner, etc., you can even overclock with this tools

  • Eightsh

    Eightsh

    Month ago

    Artificial. it's in the name. The impression of better. Placebo effect.

  • Kurtis Depauw

    Kurtis Depauw

    Month ago

    I never have any idea what in the hell Linus is talking about, yet I'm constantly driven back to just simply listen and wish I were more intellectually inclined.

  • Chris Lighthall

    Chris Lighthall

    Month ago

    Linus when are you going to review a nose hair trimmer? jk

  • dwiddleD

    dwiddleD

    Month ago

    i literally spit out the milk in my mouth when linus said AI

  • dwiddleD

    dwiddleD

    Month ago

    i literally spit out the milk in my mouth when linus said AI

  • subash lama

    subash lama

    Month ago

    so its like the ultra instinct of laptops

  • Keefe Overby

    Keefe Overby

    Month ago

    Yeah games and stuff cool, but what about the hash rate?

  • Rex Lastname

    Rex Lastname

    Month ago

    my x8's keyboard's been broken for 4 months and i'm still looking for a goddamn keyboard replacement.

  • Matt Farel

    Matt Farel

    Month ago

    best channel ever

  • Wector Cze

    Wector Cze

    Month ago

    what is it on the left from linus were you playing kal-toh

  • HellaHellaHella HEY

    HellaHellaHella HEY

    Month ago

    Next up acer nitro 7 when it comes out.

  • Christian Troia

    Christian Troia

    Month ago

    for the price i would just put it in to a build

  • 〉〉GameHacKeR〈〈

    〉〉GameHacKeR〈〈

    Month ago

    A Ryzen 7 1700 laptop can get better render times in blender compared to those i9's and cost WAY less than those 3 $h1tty ones.

  • Alexander Talashov

    Alexander Talashov

    Month ago

    There is an Y9 version that holds the RTX 2080, so why you didn't test that instead

  • Yearls

    Yearls

    Month ago

    Who has that sort of money to throw away on a laptop that can't outlive a phone?

  • Alex Mort

    Alex Mort

    Month ago

    Oh the ignoring of MSI...

  • Raina Lane

    Raina Lane

    2 months ago

    Battery leave the chat

  • scruffy pugs

    scruffy pugs

    2 months ago

    3:13 - 3:14 "for less money's"

  • NickAirsoft

    NickAirsoft

    2 months ago

    “Optimizes for gaming by upping the fan and optimized for light work by enhancing acoustics” sounds like a normal fan curve to me

  • Joham Diaz

    Joham Diaz

    2 months ago

    Hyundai kanabo

  • ZepG

    ZepG

    2 months ago

    If I ever wanted to own a laptop this might be the one, I never use a webcam and I couldn't care less about fast typing or fan noise. I like the fact we can open the case and upgrade.

  • Dashiell

    Dashiell

    2 months ago

    The lesbian one is back

  • JoshuaVendetta

    JoshuaVendetta

    2 months ago

    Well linus where else they gonna put the webcam? how about they put it in the display, A PUNCH OUT HOLE SCREEN!!! ...that will surely piss everyone off

  • BrandonStaires

    BrandonStaires

    2 months ago

    Looking forward to that Alienware m15 review!

  • Amiga Wolf

    Amiga Wolf

    2 months ago

    A Max-Q graphics card/GPU is not the perfect thin gaming laptop, they are a lot slower then the normal graphics card/GPU.

  • Yu Jay

    Yu Jay

    2 months ago

    Is there a reason why touch pads aren't slightly more to the right? My MSI Gaming Laptop has the touch pad more to the middle of the laptop, which I find really nice since I use it for both gaming and work and I tend to accidentally touch with my palm and quite often randomly pick stuff up or move code in chunks somewhere it certainly shouldn't be with other Laptop, but having it under the left palm is very common..

  • Tams80

    Tams80

    2 months ago

    So, move the webcam to the top, make the battery 99Wh battery, make an AMD version, and tone down the AI drivel?

  • Cole Hintermeister

    Cole Hintermeister

    2 months ago

    I love how a current i7 is essentially the power equivalent of what would be a hypothetical two generations ago i9 or even better, and yet both i7's are "more than capable to handle whatever you throw at it." It's not a knock on any one person or reviewer, I just think the culture of it all is funny

  • Daniel Dulu

    Daniel Dulu

    2 months ago

    nope

  • Everyth1n9

    Everyth1n9

    2 months ago

    I never knew Gigabyte had gaming laptops 😲

  • Alfonso Calderon

    Alfonso Calderon

    2 months ago

    you bunch of junk. you are all just pinheads here. a Picasso knows much less than you or slower than you but he is greater than any of you. it is because of what he does. and making a movie is so easy. I like it. I dont like knowing your stuff. I just like playing games on a very good set. just one of the least things that I like.

  • oh no

    oh no

    2 months ago

    OH MY GOD ARE YOU THE SUGAR GAY GUY

  • Wonk

    Wonk

    2 months ago

    A true missed opportunity to call it the "AI"ro 15

  • Lowen264

    Lowen264

    2 months ago

    Man a 6hr battery would be nice. My Nitro 5 dies after an hour or if I'm lucky an hour and a half.

  • Animiles

    Animiles

    2 months ago

    I hardly ever use a webcam. But there are times when I just need a webcam. It doesn't matter if it sucks, but I just need something. If someone had to use a decent webcam regularly they wouldn't be satisfied with the built-in webcam anyways. Unless they spent a lot of money on the webcam, which simply isn't worth it since hardly anyone will use the webcam regularly anyways. Integrating some kind of webcam for as cheaply as possible is good enough for most people, while not including it would probably cut down on sales. I know I'm not going to buy it if it doesn't include a webcam (unless the thing is far better than any other competition in the same price range).

  • Incorrigible Panda

    Incorrigible Panda

    2 months ago

    Blah blah blah, the damn thing still hits thermal limits. i.e. its trash.

  • Mateusz T

    Mateusz T

    2 months ago

    I wonder why laptop makers are so afraid of building anything with over 16GB of RAM. No, seriously, can someone please explain it? Most still have 8, which isn't much these days. I'm genuinely curious.

  • MC5 FORLIFE

    MC5 FORLIFE

    2 months ago

    When you see ur product on LTT GUESS ILL DIE

  • rick hunter

    rick hunter

    2 months ago

    REALLY?? saving 140 bucks is budget to you?? come on

  • Maksim Barsukov

    Maksim Barsukov

    2 months ago

    BMW Headlights Turn on at 3:01

  • Vladislavs Dovgalecs

    Vladislavs Dovgalecs

    2 months ago

    So AI detects a hotter CPU and revs up the fans. I get it. Very advanced.

  • a4tech79

    a4tech79

    2 months ago

    they are so wrong about ppl spending 2-4000USD on a laptop and don't touch the fans. They are also wrong about their build and the hardware selection. a throttled 8950HK and a Max-Q basically running like a 2009 laptop. Waste of time, waste of money. GG no re ... MSI GE75 2080 lightest desktop gpu laptop FTW !

  • Martin Procházka

    Martin Procházka

    2 months ago

    I wonder why they even bother with webcam and mic if the only reason someone would use them is to make fun of the poor quality and placemet. It just makes the laptop feel more bloaded than the pseudo OS it comes preinstalled with. Companies should adopt the do-it-right-or-not-at-all mindset...

  • Josh Mc

    Josh Mc

    2 months ago

    i dont mind a low webcam, as i almost never use one

  • HuntaKiller

    HuntaKiller

    2 months ago

    interesting is the laptop is $2199 now!!

  • mekacher anis

    mekacher anis

    2 months ago

    "with GLASWIRE make access to your internet activities easier for the NSA"

  • KeithShizuo

    KeithShizuo

    2 months ago

    wow, youtube is realy crushing those black levels

  • Omar Hisham

    Omar Hisham

    2 months ago

    3:10 "less moneys"

  • BLUE MOXIE

    BLUE MOXIE

    2 months ago

    I wanna skip to where IT Bursts into FLAMES!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • mz555

    mz555

    2 months ago

    AI is just a fancy term for macros :p

  • CrimFerret

    CrimFerret

    2 months ago

    At that pricepoint, I can't imagine the price difference you pointed out at the end really making that much difference.

  • KevinPaul06

    KevinPaul06

    2 months ago

    Any suggestion under 1200usd?

  • Гошуу

    Гошуу

    2 months ago

    put liquid metal :D and make temp test

  • Jaden Dutton

    Jaden Dutton

    2 months ago

    Check out the MSI gs65 stealth

  • MiguelPpM

    MiguelPpM

    2 months ago

    If you’re rich enough to buy a 2 400 $ laptop I bet another 200 $ or so won’t hurt you that much.

  • NekomimiNinja

    NekomimiNinja

    2 months ago

    Auto-switching fan presets and power settings counts as AI these days, huh.

  • Axel Pryke

    Axel Pryke

    2 months ago

    I see that #35 on trending nice try linus

  • Sviatoslav Ilitchev

    Sviatoslav Ilitchev

    2 months ago

    Honestly Linus? Most of people who buys a laptop like that only cares about weight, dimensions, screen quality, keyboard, touch pad(if even, most of people have a wireless mouse), battery life, and performance, stop BRAGGING about the fucking WEBCAM. No one cares about it, no one uses it anymore, and even if someone would want to use it, most of the people have a 20+ dollars webcam that is going to be a whole mile better than even the BEST pre-installed laptop webcam. It is there just because it always has been there. And it's placement is there just because if you want to have these slim bezels, that are the same on all 3 sides, is a sacrifice that you have to make, if you don't want to see a notch, or a punch hole in the laptop

  • Nomad Void

    Nomad Void

    2 months ago

    GlassWire: get an infinite "Connecting to Local Server." after purchasing a year of subscription. Wish Linus never advertised that shit. If you want to waste money for nothing, you now know how.

  • Kan je en shouthout Naar amine doen?

    Kan je en shouthout Naar amine doen?

    2 months ago

    *test*

  • Kan je en shouthout Naar amine doen?

    Kan je en shouthout Naar amine doen?

    2 months ago

    **subbed**

Next videos